

Hoffmann doubles up and takes the 270R title

SNETTERTON BRSCC **31 OCTOBER-1 NOVEMBER**

Frenetic Caterham action filled the majority of the programme at Snetterton last weekend, as three of the car maker's titles were still up for grabs.

No fewer than four drivers had a chance to walk away with the 270R crown, with Harry Cook and Ben Lopez-Appleton leading the points standings heading into the weekend. But it was Lars Alexander Hoffmann who

battled to the win in race one from Lopez-Appleton and Andy Lees, while Cook could only manage seventh.

Hoffmann, who entered the weekend six points shy of the coveted top spot, also won the second race in tough conditions, and with it took the title as Angelos Alvanos finished second and Lees third.

"I think I managed a gap because the guys behind were fighting with each other," said a happy Hoffmann. "But I came here to win, numbers didn't matter. I'm really very happy." Tom Wyllys's brace of second place

finishes in Roadsport – the first race of which was shared with the 270Rs – was enough for him to claim that title. Carl Iones and Harry Evre shared the race wins.

The 310R division also boasted a quartet of competitors with one hand on the trophy, as Greg Monks made a telling claim by winning race one from title rivals James Murphy and Lewis Thompson.

The second heat produced the toughest weather of the season, and the ultra-wet conditions caught out Monks, who went off and dropped to last place. Murphy needed a win to snatch the title and, while Monks



fought back to ninth, Murphy had taken the lead. As he did so, however, the race was red-flagged and the result was decided by the order of the previous lap, demoting Murphy to second behind Matt Sheppard, and ensuring that Monks's ninth place earned him the title.

John Byrne had already dominated the Caterham Seven UK Championship and wrapped up the title at the previous round at Donington Park. In attendance on the day but not competing, Byrne attributed his title to a team effort. "The car is set up so well, I'm able to do exactly what I want to with it," he said.

In his absence, Stephen Nuttall beat Henry Heaton in the opener – shared with the 310R drivers – by just 0.153 seconds, while Nuttall had to settle for the runner-up spot in the second, behind Gordon Sawyer.



The Britcar Endurance and Trophy championships were in action on Sunday, and numerous drivers were in line to win their classes and the overall titles. Richard Higgins in a Porsche 996 won race one in the Trophy contest before Oliver Smith delivered the standout result in race two, charging from the back of the grid in his BMW M3 E36 to take the win and the overall Trophy crown. The Endurance Championship was won by the youthful and blisteringly fast duo of Jem Hepworth and Danny Harrison in their Praga R1T. A first and a second across the two races secured the overall and class honours. "Incredible, speechless," said Hepworth

after winning the title.

the win aboard their R1T in race two. KIERAN RENNIE

Eight on the bounce for Loake secures him Fiesta Junior crown

CROFT BRSCC **31 OCTOBER**

Joseph Loake said his season "couldn't have gone better" as he took an eighth successive win to secure the Fiesta Iunior crown at Croft.

Loake snatched pole in the last minute of qualifying, and twice fought off opening-lap challenges from Bradley Beavers in the pair of races to maintain his 100% win rate in emphatic style as he battled strong winds and heavy rain showers to take the title.

"I just don't know what else to say!" Loake said. "It was good from start to finish, especially considering the long break because of COVID. I think that makes it even better because of the disruption. The competition was close, especially with Will [Orton, his main rival]. At Silverstone and Donington the gaps were really tight - it

made the victories even sweeter because they were so hard-earned.

"I still can't believe I won all eight races. The circuits we've raced on this year are so different, so it's great to be able to master them and have the knowledge that I've got the pace everywhere."

His race for the crown was made easier as nearest challenger Orton initially planned to skip Croft. He had sold his Fiesta to fund a move into the Ginetta GT5 Challenge next year, but a member of his team had calculated that he could still lose second in the championship. That meant racing a quickly hired replacement, and Orton cruised to eighth and seventh to pick up the points to maintain his runner-up spot and win the rookie class.

An inherited victory in the opening race, thanks to Oliver Turner getting a penalty for gaining an unfair advantage with a robust overtake, and a storming



run to third in race two proved enough for Sam Watkins to win the Fiesta title.

Watkins and Spencer Stevenson headed into the triple-header tied on points, and Stevenson didn't give up the title without a fight. He finished second behind Turner in race two, and then capitalised on the squabble between Watkins and Turner in the third race to take a comprehensive maiden victory. Stevenson's triumph proved to be in vain as dropped scores were his undoing. He had to drop 32 points compared to zero for Watkins (who had a non-finish at the



Cadwell Park season opener) and that handed the Fiesta Junior graduate the crown. British Touring Car racer Josh Cook

took three dominant on-the-road wins, but his Invitational class Fiesta ST Turbo was ineligible for overall victory, which meant Turner's drive in the monsoon-like race two was rewarded with a first win of the season.

It was a multi-car battle for second that allowed Nic Grindrod to escape to victory in the opening CityCar Cup race in his Citroen C1, despite having to start on the 'wrong' side of the track from pole position.

Grindrod was denied a second win after his car refused to fire up in the assembly area despite "running fine" when warming up the engine in the awning. Instead, Steve Laidlaw took the win in his Peugeot 107, chased by Richard Brunning, who made a remarkable charge from the back row in his C1.

The Clubsport Trophy spoils went to SEAT Leon TCR driver Andrew Morrison, after chasing down erstwhile race leader Zachary Lucas's Fiesta in the final 10 minutes following a late safety car. JOE HUDSON

Jack Fabby and Garry Townsend took

WEEKEND WINNERS

SNETTERTON CATERHAM 270R Races 1 & 2 Lars Alexander Hoffmann

CATERHAM ROADSPORT Race 1 Carl Jones Race 2 Harry Eyre

CATERHAM 310R Race 1 Greg Monks Race 2 Matt Sheppard

CATERHAM SEVEN UK Race 1 Stephen Nuttall (below) Race 2 Gordon Sawyer

BRITCAR TROPHY Race 1 Richard Higgins (Porsche 996) Race 2 Oliver Smith (BMW M3 E36)

BRITCAR ENDURANCE Race 1 Danny Harrison/Jem Hepworth (Praga R1T) Race 2 Jack Fabby/Garry Townsend (Praga R1T)

CATERHAM ROADSPORT CHALLENGE TROPHY

Domenique Mannsperger



CROFT FIESTA JUNIORS Races 1 & 2 Joseph Loake

FIESTA CHAMPIONSHIP Race 1 Sam Watkins (below) Race 2 Oliver Turner Race 3 Spencer Stevenson

CITYCAR CUP Race 1 Nic Grindrod (Citroen C1) Race 2 Steve Laidlaw (Peugeot 107)

CLUBSPORT TROPHY Andrew Morrison (SEAT Leon TCR)



For full results visit: tsl-timing.com