David Jackson

davidjacksonreporter.com https://www.injusticewatch.org/staff-news/2023/alejandra-cancino-david-jackson-announcement/ https://illinoisanswers.org/author/david-jackson/ https://www.chicagotribune.com/chi-david-jackson-staff.html

Employment:

- Injustice Watch / Senior Reporter, 2023-present / Editors David Kidwell, Jonah Newman

- The Better Government Association / Senior Investigator, 2020-2023 / Editors John Chase, David Kidwell, Steve Warmbir

- The Chicago Tribune / Investigative reporter: 1991-1997, 1999-2020 / Editors: Ann Marie Lipinski, James O'Shea, Robert Blau, Mary Elson, Flynn McRoberts, George Papajohn, Vickie Walton-James, Angela Rozas O'Toole, Kaarin Tisue

- Northwestern University, Medill journalism program, various teaching roles: 2012 to present

- The Washington Post / Investigative reporter: 1998 / Editor Rick Atkinson

- Chicago magazine / Senior Editor: 1987-1991 / Editor Hillel Levin

Education:

Northwestern University, BA 1984, history

Harvard University, Nieman Fellow, 2008-09: Analyzed Chicago student-level school attendance data under a contract including Harvard's Institutional Review Board and its Committee on Human Subjects. The Tribune later published "An empty-desk epidemic."

Major awards:

Pulitzer Prize for public service, 1999 (with Jeff Leen, Sari Horwitz and Jo Craven)

Pulitzer finalist: Investigative reporting, 2015 and 2011 (both with Gary Marx), and 1996 (with William Gaines); National reporting, 2000

Other recent awards include: Park Center for Independent Media (2022); SABEW Award (2022); Chicago Journalism Association Lifetime Achievement Award (2020); Education Writers Association - Public Service (2019); American Professional Society on the Abuse of Children (2019); Illinois Associated Press Media Editors public service and investigative awards (2019); Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Award for Investigative Reporting (2019, 2015); IRE Award for Investigations Triggered by Breaking News (2018); Online Journalism Association - Al Neuharth Innovation in Investigative Journalism (2018); National Headliner Award (2017); National Press Club Ann Cottrell Award (2017); NAAJ Agriculture Journalist of the Year (2017); Anthony Shadid Award for Journalism Ethics (2015); Ancil Payne Award for Ethics in Journalism (2015); Illinois Associated Press Editorial Sweepstakes (2015); Illinois House of Representatives Honorary Resolution, H.R.453 (2013); Medill Medal for Courage in Journalism (2012); IRE Freedom of Information Award (2012); James Aronson Award for Social Justice Journalism (2012); Education Writers Association Grand Prize (2012); Heywood Broun Award (2012, 2009) ...